Scroll Top
Team China wins iba.UIBC.CUP of Bakers

Lin Yeqiang and Feng Yingjie from China won the 2023 iba.UIBC.CUP of Bakers. Teams from 12 countries competed live for the gold medal this year at iba, working in  pairs. They included the best bakers from Peru, Japan, France, China, Greece, Germany, Korea, Iceland, Mexico, Brazil, Chile and Italy.

The theme for this year’s competition was ‘The Animal World’. Contestants had to create breads, small bakery products, party products, Danish pastries, and a baked showpiece.

“I congratulate all the participants for this outstanding achievement. That was craftsmanship of the highest international level! The competition challenges the bakers to use their skills very precisely without getting flustered. Time is short, tension is high. Every step has to be perfect,” said Michael Wippler, President of the Zentralverband des Deutschen Bäckerhandwerks (central association of German bakers). The showpiece was judged in the bakery before being brought to the presentation table. The baked goods were judged in a transparent manner in the iba.FORUM on every competition day.
Lin Yeqiang and Feng Yingjie received the award from Michael Wippler and chair of the panel of judges Wolfgang Schäfer. Hwang Seokyong and Han Seokwang from South Korea came in second. Third place went to Nicole and Patrick Mittmann from Germany. The award for ‘Best Danish Pastries’ and for the category ‘Best Bread’ also went to Lin Yeqiang and Feng Yingjie from China. The ‘Best Small Bakery Products and Party Products’ award went to Nicolo Motto and Matteo Manuini from Italy. The prize for best showpiece was won by the German team, Nicole and Patrick Mittmann.

Participants and countries in alphabetical order:

Brazil: Ana Paula de Jesus Santos, Victor Rosseto Duarte Dantas
Chile: Diego Alexis Miranda Fuentes, José Daniel Tapia Orellana
China: Lin Yeqiang, Feng Yingjie
Germany: Nicole Mittmann, Patrick Mittmann
France: Nicolas Callejon, Florian Stephanus 
Greece: Charilaos Papalitsas, Dimitrios Fragogiannis
Iceland: Stefan Petur Bachmann Bjarnason, Finnur Gudberg Ivarsson
Italy: Nicolo Motta, Matteo Manuini
Japan: Mizuki Matsuyama, Jumpei Kurihara 
Korea: Hwang Seokyong, Han Seokwang
Mexico: Raúl Galván, Diego Suárez
Peru: Valerie Tejada Perea, Jaime Salazar Takiri

Photo: GHM